Past Conferences


The first China goes Global conference was hosted by Rollins College in 2006. Between 2007 and 2012 were hosted by the Rajawali Foundation Institute for Asia at Harvard Kennedy School’s Ash Center for Democratic Governance and Innovation, in partnership with the Rollins College, College of Professional Studies and the China Center of Rollins College, the Jacobs University, and the Georgia Institute of Technology’s Center for International Business Education and Research (CIBER).

Since 2013 the annual conferences rotate globaly among supporting universities (Jacobs University Bremen/Germany; Georgia Tech/USA; Harvard University, Cambridge/USA; Rollins College, Florida; University of Macerata, Italy; University of Agder, Norway etc.) as well as other non-profit institutions:
2013 – Jacobs University Bremen/Germany;
2014 – Shanghai Jiatong University/China;
2015 – Georgia Tech/Atlanta, USA;
2016 – University of Macerata/Italy;
2017 – University of Agder/Norway.

This conference is rooted in a cooperative research project (TransCoop) between the Harvard Kennedy School, Rollins College, and Jacobs University on China’s globalization initially funded by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation in Germany to encourage multidisciplinary and transnational research on the Chinese economy and firms.

The past China Goes Global conferences were great successes, each with about sixty paper presentations and more than 100 participants. As a result of the 2008 Conference, the conference organizers published a book titled, China Rules: Globalization and Political Transformation (Palgrave Macmillan, 2009) as well as a special issue in the Journal of Chinese Management Studies (2009), and the Thunderbird International Business Review (2012).

We express our grateful thanks to all the reviewers who participated in the process of systematically reviewing and selecting all submissions. The International Journal of Emerging Markets (IJoEM) is our sponsor for the “Best Paper” awards. We also extend our personal and collective thanks to all our contributors and supporters: participants, authors, speakers, reviewers, discussants, session chairs, academic sponsors (Harvard University, Rollins College, Jacobs University, and Georgia Institute of Technology). The local organizing committee deserves special words of thanks and recognition for their caring and tireless work in ensuring the quality of the conference.